

# PARKES SHIRE COUNCIL

Our Mission: To Deliver Progress and Value to our Community

## Our Communities Vision:

In 2022 the Parkes Shire will be a progressive regional centre, embracing a national logistics hub with vibrant communities, diverse opportunities, learning and healthy lifestyles.

# **MINUTES**

Thursday, 23 December 2021

Notice is hereby given that an Ordinary Council Meeting of Parkes Shire Council will be held at Parkes Shire Council Offices 2 Cecile Street Parkes, commencing at 2:00 PM for the purpose of considering the items included on the Agenda.

GENERAL MANAGER: Kent Boyd PSM

# **ORDINARY MEETING**

Minutes of the Ordinary Meeting held in the Parkes Shire Council Offices 2 Cecile Street Parkes, on Thursday, 23 December 2021 at 2:00 PM.

#### **PRESENT**

Councillor K J Keith OAM
Councillor W P Jayet
Councillor G W Pratt
Councillor N C Westcott
Councillor LA O'Leary

Councillor GS Wilson Councillor K M McGrath Councillor JP Cass Councillor ME Applebee Councillor DR Weber

#### IN ATTENDANCE

General Manager - K Boyd
Director Planning & Community Services - B Hayes
Director Operations - B Howard
Executive Manager Corporate Services - A McGrath
Chief Financial Officer - J Barnard
Minutes - M Wyatt and B Hinton

#### MEETING COMMENCEMENT

The Meeting commenced at 2:00 PM.

# 1. PRAYER

# 2. ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY

## 3. ATTENDANCE AND APOLOGIES

Nil.

#### 4. COUNCILLOR'S OATH OR AFFIRMATION OF OFFICE

At this point in the proceedings,

Councillor LA O'Leary took the Affirmation in front of her fellow Councillors and the General Manager. She then duly signed the Affirmation under witness by the General Manager.

Councillor ME Applebee swore the Oath in front of her fellow Councillors and the General Manager. She then duly signed the Oath under witness by the General Manager.

Councillor JP Cass swore the Oath in front of his fellow Councillors and the General Manager. He then duly signed the Oath under witness by the General Manager.

Councillor WP Jayet took the Affirmation in front of his fellow Councillors and the General Manager. He then duly signed the Affirmation under witness by the General Manager.

Councillor NC Westcott swore the Oath in front of his fellow Councillors and the General Manager. He then duly signed the Oath under witness by the General Manager.

Councillor KM McGrath swore the Oath in front of his fellow Councillors and the General Manager. He then duly signed the Oath under witness by the General Manager.

Councillor GW Pratt swore the Oath in front of his fellow Councillors and the General Manager. He then duly signed the Oath under witness by the General Manager.

Councillor DR Weber took the Affirmation in front of his fellow Councillors and the General Manager. He then duly signed the Affirmation under witness by the General Manager.

Councillor GS Wilson took the Affirmation in front of his fellow Councillors and the General Manager. He then duly signed the Affirmation under witness by the General Manager.

Councillor KJ Keith OAM swore the Oath in front of his fellow Councillors and the General Manager. He then duly signed the Oath under witness by the General Manager.

#### 5. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Nil.

#### 6. GENERAL MANAGERS REPORT

# 6.1 (GM) Election of Mayor and Deputy Mayor

#### **Prepared By:**

General Manager.

#### **Executive Summary**

The election of the Mayor and Deputy Mayor by Councillors will take place on 23 December 2021.

#### Recommendation

- 1. That a ballot for Mayor to hold office until September 2023 be conducted using the ordinary ballot system.
- 2. That Council elect a Deputy Mayor to hold office until September 2023 and the ballot be conducted by the ordinary ballot system.

#### 21 - 445 Resolution

That the recommendation be adopted.

Moved Councillor KJ Keith, seconded Councillor WP Jayet.

**CARRIED** 

The General Manager appointed the Acting Director Customer, Corporate Services and Economy Anthony McGrath as the Returning Officer for the Mayoral and Deputy Mayoral Election process.

In accordance with Local Government (General) Regulation 2005 (Schedule 7) nominations were called for Mayor and 2 nominations were received being Councillor Ken Keith OAM and Councillor Glen Wilson.

Ballot papers were distributed to all Councillors and an election was held under Ordinary Ballot system with the following result:

Councillor Ken Keith OAM (8)

Councillor Glen Wilson (2)

The Returning Officer declared that Councillor Ken Keith OAM was elected as Mayor until the next Mayoral election in September 2023.

Councillor Ken Keith OAM made a brief address congratulating the new Councillors. Councillor Ken Keith OAM also thanked his wife Sue and family.

In accordance with Local Government (General) Regulation 2005 (Schedule 7) nominations were called for Deputy Mayor and 3 nominations were received being Councillor Neil Westcott, Councillor Kenny McGrath and Councillor Glen Wilson.

Ballot papers were distributed to all Councillors and an election was held under Ordinary Ballot system to eliminated one candidate, with the following result:

Councillor Neil Westcott (5)

Councillor Glen Wilson (3)

Councillor Kenny McGrath (2)

Councillor Kenny McGrath was eliminated as he tallied the lowest number of votes.

Ballot papers were distributed to all Councillors and an election was held under Ordinary Ballot system with the following result:

Councillor Neil Westcott (7)

Councillor Glen Wilson (2)

One informal vote was received.

The Returning Officer declared that Councillor Neil Westcott was elected as Deputy Mayor until the next Deputy Mayoral election in September 2023.

Councillor Neil Westcott made a brief address thanking Councillor KM McGrath for his work as Councillor and thanking Council for the opportunity.

The meeting resumed at 2:45pm chaired by Mayor KJ Keith OAM.

# 6.2 (GM) Using Countbacks to fill Casual Vacancies

# Prepared By:

General Manager

# **Executive Summary**

Councils must, by resolution, declare that casual vacancies occurring in the office of a councillor within 18 months of the election are to be filled by a countback of votes cast at the election if councils want to fill vacancies by these means. Councils that do not resolve to fill vacancies using a countback at their first meeting after the election will be required to fill vacancies using a by-election.

#### Recommendation

- 1. Pursuant to section 291A(1)(b) of the Local Government Act 1993 (the Act) Parkes Shire Council declares that casual vacancies occurring in the office of a councillor within 18 months after the last ordinary election of councillors for the Council on 04 December 2021 are to be filled by a countback of votes cast at that election for the office in accordance with section 291A of the Act: and,
- 2. The General Manager to notify the NSW Electoral Commission of the Council's decision within 7 days of the decision.

#### 21 - 446 Resolution

That the recommendation be adopted.

Moved Councillor WP Jayet, seconded Councillor LA O'Leary.

**CARRIED** 

# 6.3 (GM) Councillor Representation on Council Committees, Community Committees, Community Groups and organisations 2022

#### **Prepared By:**

General Manager

## **Executive Summary**

Council is asked to determine its Committee representatives annually. Parkes Shire Councillors are requested to review the current Council committees and consider their participation. Delegates will be formalised at the 18 January 2022 Ordinary Council meeting.

#### Recommendation

- 1. For Council's information.
- 2. Council representatives on the various committee's will be formalised at the 18 January 2022 Ordinary Council meeting.

#### 21 - 447 Resolution

That the recommendation be adopted.

Moved Councillor NC Westcott, seconded Councillor GW Pratt.

**CARRIED** 

# 7. MEETING CLOSURE

There being no further business the Mayor declared the meeting closed at 2:51pm.